TV DINNERS (better late than never I suppose..)

This post meant to be posted in January… But my life came almost upside down with a new project (long wished but never possible before for financial reasons)… We were so busy let alone blogging I did hardly find time to feed myself…

Anyway better late than never I suppose…

TV DINNERS

We are hooked on “Breaking Bad” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Breaking_Bad recently.

That means we watched the first two seasons in two weeks, and that means we had a tv dinner every week day we watched two episodes back to back.

A seafood pasta

 

DSCF1163

Roast Chicken and Potatoes

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sardines Provençale

 

DSCF0639

For a great roast chicken recipe check this

https://foodsandmoods.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/the-fabulous-return-of-the-chick/

But todays recipe is my version of

Sauce Provençale

1 cup tomato pulp (I grate half-cut tomatoes from the coarse side of the grater or use whole tinned San Marzano tomatoes)

¾ cup finely chopped onions

2 cups finely chopped tomato

2 clove garlic, minced

1 tsp Herbe de Provence

2 tbs capers (well rinsed)

2 tbs chopped black olive

2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

In a heavy-bottomed saucepan, sauté the onions until they’re translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the chopped tomato, garlic and Herbes de Provence. Continue to sauté until the tomatoes are soft, about 10 minutes. Add the tomato sauce, capers and olives, bring to a simmer and reduce for about 10 minutes. Season with the salt and pepper and serve immediately on any pan-fried fish, chicken or fillet of beef.

This is my almost classic recipe.

But!

On my sardines I did not use tomato pulp. I sautéed all the ingredients apart from chopped tomato for couple of minutes and add the fresh tomato then give two or three more minutes to release the taste, all on high heat without letting the ingredients burn or go brown.

I quickly fried my sardines on another hot pan with 1tbs olive oil and 1ts butter. 4 mn one side then 2 mn the other side. Dressed with the sauce while both are hot and sprinkled with freshly chopped parsley…

DSCF0639 (3)

Delicious!

PS: The project is almost finished but the ordeal with stay with us for a little longer… I don’t feel like sharing yet… Hope you will forgive me…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kazy says:

    Reblogged this on Kazy's Kitchen and commented:
    Another interesting alternative for Sardines, which I’ll be trying out shortly!

Leave a Reply

