APPLE PIE TO PLEASE MY LOVE

30122010071_edited

My sweetheart and myself we are apart for the first time in the last 5 years. I am not counting the days that I left him home and visited my family and friends in Turkey of course. This is my blog and I am totally allowed to be selfish and talk about me me me!
He packed off for a business trip somehow involving visiting his friends and his mom in complete off the track destinations but of course it is a business trip from start to finish. Sarcastic? Me? No ways!
Anyway I am enjoying my space although it’s a well confined space by the business and my Master Key Keeper duties…
And I am missing him like crazy at the same time.
He is so not capable of understanding how to enjoy yourself while missing someone constantly.
You see I left my country and my “people” behind to come and create a new life with him. I am very well-trained in “nostalgia and homesickness management” I must say.

Oh where this is going now looks very cheesy. I love cheese I do not love drama. Oh yes I hate drama indeed!

OK let’s get to the subject… I am going to spoil him with his favorite dessert this weekend. I am not big on pastry and baking, neither  Francis but he is really fond of his Apple Pie and I would love to have Pear Frangipani time to time. So I mustered this two house specialties.

Making pie is very easy once you find your favorite pie crust recipe. I tried many and decided on this one.

Here is my or rather F’s Apple Pie

30122010071

THE PASTRY
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling
1 cup (2 sticks or 8 ounces) unsalted butter, very-cold, cut into 2cm cubes
1 tsp salt
1 tbs sugar
6 to 8 tbs ice water
Combine flour, salt, and sugar in a food processor; pulse to mix. Add butter and pulse 6 to 8 times, until mixture resembles coarse meal, with pea size pieces of butter. Add ice water 1 Tbsp at a time, pulsing until mixture just begins to clump together. If you pinch some of the crumbly dough and it holds together, it’s ready. If the dough doesn’t hold together, add a little more water and pulse again. Note that too much water will make the crust tough.
Remove dough from machine and place in a mound on a clean surface. If you want an extra flaky crust, shmoosh the dough mixture into the table top with the heel of the palm of your hand a few times. This will help flatten the butter into layers between the flour which will help the resulting crust be flaky. You can easily skip this step if you want. Gently shape the dough mixture into two disks. Work the dough just enough to form the disks, do not over-knead. You should be able to see little bits of butter in the dough. These small chunks of butter are what will allow the resulting crust to be flaky. Sprinkle a little flour around the disks. Wrap each disk in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 1 hour, and up to 2 days.
THE PIE
Remove one crust disk from the refrigerator. Let sit at room temperature for 5-10 minutes in order to soften just enough to make rolling out a bit easier. Roll out with a rolling-pin on a lightly floured surface to a 30cm circle; about 3 to 5cm thick. As you roll out the dough, check if the dough is sticking to the surface below. If necessary, add a few sprinkles of flour under the dough to keep the dough from sticking. Carefully place onto a 22cm pie dish covered with a disc of baking paper (stick to the bottom with a smear of butter). Gently press the pie dough down so that it lines the bottom and sides of the pie plate. Do not trim the pastry.

DSCF1179
THE FILLING
In this case (actually 9 out of 10 pies) I used Granny Smith apples. I love their crispy firm texture and tart but somehow sweet flavour. Slice the apples (4 to 6 apples depending the size, I usually cut 8 wedges of each apple). Put them in a large bowl with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves, 1 tablespoon old brown sherry or Martini Bianco, 1 tablespoon of lemon juice an d a tablespoon of sugar. Toss well then arrange the slices neatly or roughly as you wish, on the first pastry.
Roll out second disk of dough, as before. Gently place onto the top of the filling in the pie. Pinch top and bottom of dough rounds firmly together. Trim excess dough with a sharp knife, leaving a centimeter overhang. Fold the edge of the top piece of dough over and under the edge of the bottom piece of dough, pressing together. Flute edges using thumb and forefinger or press with a fork. Make small incisions on the top pastry so that steam from the cooking pie can escape.

Don’t worry about the roses… One has  to show off time to time. It’s so easy and because I can… Will show you how to make this one day…

DSCF1188
Put the pie in to 180 C preheated oven and bake for 30 – 35mn or until golden brown.

Serve warm with ice cream.

My choice is crème fraiche,

Francis likes double cream.

Bon appetit!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. The roses are super pretty! I always thought you had to blind bake the pastry and cook the filling before baking the pie? But I’ve never made apple pie before! Only an impression!

    1. the roses are super easy! 🙂
      make two disks of your left over dough, 3 to 4mm thick, 5-6cm diameter. put the first disk on the second one with 0.5cm over lap. roll the disks cigar like and slice them in the middle to obtain two rose buds, thin and over turn the edges slightly and bake… that is so good with with biscuit dough if you want to make a little fancy pansy baking. it also works with marzipan or ganache for decorations…
      the blind cooking is for tarts and pies that you make with fruit that can not take real cooking like berries… or for quiche which needs double baking. cooking the filling before hand will give this pie a jam tart like consistency. if you make it my way you will end up with a fresh, pleasantly tarty taste of fruit which does not make you feel guilty of eating a heavy pud…

      1. Oh thanks! That’s super helpful to know!

  2. Glynis says:

    Apple Pie one of my favs as well!

Leave a Reply

