ALTERNATIVE BRAAI

I convinced my self to have 1 week without red meat. The worst punishment for a total carnivorous me…

Peri peri chicken, chicken stew, fish soup, Sole Meunière, spaghetti with porcini mushroom etc… They are all very tasty and in a normal week I am cooking all this (and more) variety anyway… And you must remember that I am totally fixated with seafood.

BUT when I can not eat meat I realized, I dream, I fantasize meat…

Ah must give you the other little detail about this semi detox; on top of no meat, NO ALCOHOL!
No happy hour cocktails in the pool after an over stressed work day, no glass of ice-cold Sauvignon Blanc for my sole meuniere, no my beloved Shiraz with Graziella’s creamy gorgonzola… (in fact no gorgonzola either…)

What a torture!

When the week came to an end I meant to throw a little bbq party, a braai as we say in this land.

I invited some friends including a very good friend of ours, in fact my first and best friend since I moved in SA.

Sent the sms and received one back immediately, “count me 2”. She is divorced for a year and never know that she was dating someone… I suppressed the urge of calling her for an interrogation, instead I stayed mute. That little trick is fool-proof! It works with any and every women that I know. She called me presto and gave me a little summary about this new man in her life and she is almost considering moving together…

Moving together? How long do you know him? A week? A month? Have you lost your mind? No I did not say what I thought but said “how wonderfulll, I am looking forward to meeting him!” Then she said “Ah one more thing… He adores food and he is pescaterian!”

Pufffffff!

Did I change my mind about “the red red bloody juicy cave woman’s menu”? NO!!! Rump steak, I am craving!

But I edited it to new Mr. So Right’s favor, and added this:

Thai Marinated Prawns with Shiitake Mushroom On the Skewer

3 cloves of garlic, crushed and finely chopped

1tbs grated fresh ginger

1 chili, finely chopped

2tbs chopped coriander

2tbs chopped spring onion

2tbs lime juice

1tbs soy sauce

1tbs fish sauce

1ts toasted sesame oil 

Thai marinade is also delicious as a salad dressing if you add a spoonful of rice vinegar.

This ingredients are good for a kilo of medium size prawns. Let’s say  20 – 24 prawns, so 20 – 24 of shiitake mushrooms to have an even number on the skewers.010

 

Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl and set aside to marinate for an hour or two. Line them on skewers and cook on the fire until the prawns turn pink.

DSCF0651 (2)

After planning the prawn dish I had to add a steamed jasmine rice to the menu. Oh and sprinkled my rump steak with little crushed chili and add a small piece of crushed ginger and garlic while resting on the counter to reach the room temperature. A little Asian touch to bind the whole menu together. Sautéed pak choi did the job on the green side. The dessert, Strawberry and crème fraiche sprinkled with crystalized lime zest, I must say was nothing to mention with capitals… I was not craving for dessert after all.

I can hear you asking about the new guy…

Well I need more time to get use to the idea of an outsider in our little close circle I suppose… But he definitely loves his food, knows his wine, treats my friend with utmost care. That’s all A+ in my book…

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

