BEAN HECTIC! (to be continued)

Alright!

I really need to confess…

I AM OBSESSED WITH BEANS! Yes all sort of beans… Broad, flat, runner, sugar, speckled… fresh, dried, canned…

My biggest worry about moving to South Africa was “how many different type of beans I can get?” and especially “can I find flat beans?”

Yes! They have many kind of fresh and tinned beans here and YESSS they have flat beans! And most conveniently 3 types of beans are growing in my garden; speckled (borlotti), runner and the recent add broad beans!

Turkish cuisine has many bean dishes as starters, salads, dips, mezzes, soups and stews and I love them all! But I never limit myself with my home cuisine and I love beans in all forms and tastes. One of these days you are going to find recipes for 2 different versions of Cassoulet.

But first things first. My favourite beans with my favourite recipe:

Flat bean spaghetti braised with onions and tomatoes

700 gr flat beans (2 packs)

1 large or 2 small tomatoes peeled and diced

1 medium onion diced

2 cloves of garlic crushed and minced

2 tbs olive oil

1/2 ts sugar

salt and pepper to taste

1 1/2 cup of warm water on the side

Top and tail the beans and remove thinly the rough sides then cut into thin long strips length wise. Layer the pot in this order with onions, beans, tomatoes, garlic and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle the sugar then season. Close the lid tightly and put the pot on the stove on a very low heat it must be almost like candle light. 10 minutes later check the juices in the pot and add half a cup to two third of warm water if there is not enough juice at the bottom. Cook for another  20 mn. and check the pot again. You may need to add a little amount of water. Stir the content of the pot for the first time and taste to adjust salt level. Remember beans need more salt than most vegetables. Cook until tender.

Serve warm or cold as starter dish. Or as a part of your antipasti platter. Delicious on a piece of toasted sourdough bread.

Leave a Reply

